Praya Phichai Dap Hak Memorial is installed in front of
the townhall erected in honour of a hero. As governor of
Muang Phichai (south of Uttaradit) about 200 years ago
during the Thon Buri Period, the valiantly fought with
Burmese evaders until one of his swords broke in two.
But he prevailed over them. Hence the sobriquet “Phichai
of the Broken Sword”.
Uttaradit Provincial Cultural Hall
official residence of the provincial governor, the Uttaradit
Provincial Cultural Hall houses important historical relics. A
major item is the "Yan Mat", a carved wooden carrying pole made
by Late Ayutthaya Period craftsmen.
about three kiometres from Muang district at Tambon Ban Kae, is
an old temple with beautiful plaster bas-reliefs over the
Ubosot. Inside are rare wall murals of the Early Rattanakosin
Period style depicting the Jataka and assemblage of celestial
Wat Tha Thanon
town on the Nan River bank is Wat Tha Thanon, which houses Luang
Pho Phet, the principal Buddha statue of he province. It is of
the Chiang Saen style and cast in bronze.
Wat Thamma Thipatai
Thamma Thipatai at In Chai Mi intersection is where the
door panels of the large and ancient Vihan of Wat Phra
Fang are kept. The panels, made of wood, measure 2.2
metre wide x 5.3 metre high. The carved design is of the
graceful style of the Late Ayutthaya Period. They are
rated as the second best such creation next only to
those at Wat Suthat in Bangkok.
Wat Yai Tha Sao
east of town about three kilometres away on Samranrun
Road is Wat Yai Tha Sao. It features and old chapel with
beautiful wood-carved door panels and lintels.
district can be reached from the provincial town by taking
Highway No. 102, taking a right turn after about 3
kilometres onto Highway No. 1041 and continue on for a
further 6 kilometres. The site was originally an ancient
community during the Ayutthaya Period. It served as a secret
hide-out for people in Phrae and Nan who fled from enemy or
calamity as its location was sandwiched in between
mountains. Today Laplae is an attractive place to visit with
interesting ancient sites and hand-crafted, materials. It is
also a major producer of Langsat, the province's famous
Namtok Mae Phun
Phun waterfall, located at Ban Ton Klua, is about twenty
kilometres from town. The dam-like barrier creates
multi-level cascades amid pleasant natural surroundings.
Phra Si Phanommat Memorial
Si Phanommat Memorial, in Laplae district, commemorates a
community leader who was highly repeated by the townspeople.
The Chinese-descended tax collector on alcohol products
contributed tremendously to the development of the community
and was rewarded with the rank of Phra Si Phanommat from
King Rama V.
Wat Phra Borom That
Phra Borom That Thung Yang is about three kilometres
from town on Highway No.102. An old temple, it was
once called Wat Mahathat. There is a large,
circular-shaped, Ceylonese-style Chedi enshrining a
Wat Phra Thaen Sila
little further from Wat Phra Yun, some 14 kilometres
from town is Wat Phra Thaen Sila At. The major
feature is the base of a sermon platform built with
laterite. The square slab with pattern is believed
to have been made during the Sukhothai Period.
Annual celebrations are held at the three temples in
Wat Phra Yun Phutthabat Yukhon
temple, near Wat Phra Borom That Thung Yang, features a
Chiang Saen-style Mondop which covers a pair of holy
Footprint. It also houses a Sukhothai-style Buddha statue
cast in bronze.
Sirikit at Tha Pla district some 68 kilometres from town on
the Uttaradit-Tha Pla Road, is the country’s large earthen
dam. Built to dam up the Nan River, the dike is 800 metres
long. Beyond the dam is a large lake with beautiful scenery.
During the cool season, the attractively landscape terrain
bursts out in a profusion of colourful flowers and blooms.
There are accommodation and boating services available.
Sak Yai Forest Park
Yai Forest Park in Nam Pat district about 80 kilometres from
town on Highways Nos. 1045, 1146 and 1047, features the
largest teak tree in the world. It has a circumference of
9.87 metres and is believed to be about 1,500 years old.
Unfortunately, its top has been broken of by storm but the
trunk still stands.
Thong Saen Khan
Bo Lek Nam Phi
Bo Lek Nam
Phi is the source of the best quality steel which was used
to fashion swords and weapons in the past. Today, there are
still two "wells" in existence. Ores from these two sources
are believed to have been used to make swords for kings
only. This ancient site can be reached by going for a
distance of 42 kilometres to Thong Saen Khan district and
continue for another 14 kilometres on Highway 1245.