located between Tha-le Chupson and Thanon Yai sub-districts is
famous for its chalk industry where Din So Phong (white clay) is
Kachornvit Mushroom Farm
Mu 6 Nikhom Sang Toneng Sub-District, Mueang District, Lop Buri
Since its establishment in 1981, the Mushroom Farm has developed
its technology to grow high-quality organic mushrooms using EM
microbe. Visitors can take a short tour of the farm or sample
several kinds of preserved mushrooms which are also available
for sale. Farm-stay accommodations are available but
reservations must be made in advance. Call 036 652442 or 07
0710683 for more details.
King Narai National Museum
was established in 1924 by with the Phra Narai Ratchaniwet as
its exhibition halls. Currently, three historical buildings are
used to display various art objects, including an impressive
collection of Lop Buri-style sculpture and Khmer, Dvaravati,
U-Thong and Ayutthaya arts. In addition, traditional
agricultural tools, including ploughs, carts, grain separators
and fish traps, are on display in different buildings. The
Museum opens daily except Monday and Tuesday, from 9.00a.m. to
4.00p.m. Admission fee is 30 bahts. Museum services include:
lectures, tour guides, special exhibitions, slides, videos,
postcards, books and a gift shop.
King Narai the Great Shrine
The Statue of
King Narai the Great is located near the town entrance. It was
built to honor King Narai the Great in forging ahead
technological development, foreign relations and prosperity to
Lop Buri and the Ayutthaya Kingdom. He was the first monarch to
bring modern technology into use such as the use of terra-cotta
pipes and construction of celestial observatory. He is also
remembered for his neo-foreign policy as he established close
diplomatic ties with the European powers.
Lop Buri Zoo
A 25-acre zoo
is well known for its interesting residents: Asian and
Australian birds and mammals. The most striking feature of the
zoo is the unusual family of three tigers and four dogs who live
harmoniously together in the same quarters. The zoo is located
behind the Army Theatre near the Sa Kaew Circle. Opens daily
from 8.00 a.m. – 6.00 p.m.
agro-tourism farm covering an area of 50 rai, Oasis Agro-Farm
was established in 2001 to raise imported ostriches from South
Africa. The farm is divided into different zones including a
butterfly farm, an ostrich ranch, a sunflower plantation, etc.
Visitors can enjoy hand-feeding the ostriches and driving a
mini-tractor along the sunflower plantation. Admission fee is 10
bahts/person. For more information, contact Mr. Somchat
Singhapol at 01 7808928 or 01 9941256 or you can visit
www.oasisfarm.net to get
a glimpse of the farm.
Phra Narai Ratchaniwet (King Narai’s Palace)
The palace was
built in 1665 and 1677, when King Narai the Great decided to
make Lop Buri the second capital of the Ayutthaya Kingdom.
Although the buildings were designed by with the contributions
of French architects, the Khmer influence was still strong. The
Palace was a perfect blend of the both world, an awesome mixture
of Khmer-European styles.
death of King Narai the Great in 1688, the palace was deserted.
It was not until the reign of King Rama IV during the
Ratanakosin era, that the Palace was restored and renamed Narai
The Palace is
located in the town center, between Ratchadamnoen Road and Pratu
Chai Road. The whole complex has been turned into the Lop Buri
National Museum (commonly known as King Narai National Museum).
The Palace can
be accessed through the Pratu Phayakkha, which is currently a
town park, located off Sorasak Road. The Palace opens Wednesdays
through Sundays from 7.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.
Palace lies a number of compounds containing pavilions, some
built during the reign of King Narai and others constructed
during the reign of King Rama IV.
built during the reign of King Narai the Great include:
Palace of King Narai the Great in Lop Buri, the Pavilion was
subsequently turned into an audience hall after he moved his
residence to the Suttha Sawan Pavilion. The fact that the
building is of pure Thai architectural style indicates that no
French architects were involved in the design and construction
process. King Rama IV (King Mongkut of the Ratanakosin era)
restored the building in 1863. The Pavilion was once used by the
privy-council as a meeting hall. Now, it serves as a hall
displaying archaeological and art objects, especially the Lop
Buri-style stone Buddha images, historic paintings from the era
of King Narai the Great and Buddhist art objects from the
Ayutthaya and Ratanakosin period.
was built as a place to store royal treasures and royal goods
sold to foreign merchants during the late 1600s. It is commonly
known as “the Twelve Treasure Houses”.
and Horse Stables
is located close to the wall separating the outer and middle
sections of the Palace.
during the reign of King Narai the Great, the reservoir stored
water which came from a freshwater lake “Tale Chupsorn”, through
the well designed terra cotta pipes. Tale Chupsorn was the main
lake supplying drinking water to Lop Buri residents.
Sawan Thanya Maha Prasat Hall
under the royal command of King Narai the Great, the Hall was
formerly used by King Narai as an audience hall receiving
high-ranking foreign ambassadors. This was the place where the
King received Chevalier de Chaumont, the representative of King
Louis XIV of France. The Hall was built in a perfect blending of
French and Thai architectural styles.
was once located amidst a beautifully decorated garden with
ponds and fountains. This was the place where King Narai the
Great resided and died on 11 July 1688. Apart from the Pavilion,
which had been restored by King Mongkut, only the remains of
man-made hills and fountains can be seen.
as Phra Thinang Yen, the Hall is located on an island in a dried
up lake, Thale Chupson, which once supplied fresh drinking water
to the people of Lop Buri. Kraison Siharat Hall was used as the
residence of King Narai, Jesuits and envoys of King Louis XIV of
France when they came to witness a lunar eclipse on 11 December,
Built by King
Narai the Great, the building is located to the south of the
outer section of the palace. Serving as the King’s private
audience hall, the building featured Thai-style architecture of
which it is currently possible to see only the remains of wall
sections with visible decorative motifs at the doors and
three sides by ponds, the Hall was built to entertain important
foreign visitors. One of the remains includes a brick platform
facing the Hall, which was used as a stage or theater possibly
for shadow plays or dances indicating that the place was once
used as an entertainment compound.
was a three-story brick building where King Rama IV (King
Mongkut) resided when he visited Lop Buri during the renovation
of the Palace. Connected to the pavilion are three other
buildings namely Suttha Winitchai Pavilion, Chai Sattrakon
Pavilion and Akson Sattrakhom. All of these buildings are now
being used as the offices of the Lop Buri National Museum.
A group of
eight two-story buildings built behind King Mongkut’s residence
(Phiman Mongkut Pavilion), which were used as residences for
inner court officials.
located at the entrance of the middle court.
Phra Prang Sam Yot
on Vichayen Road, approximately 200 meters from the
railway station, Phra Prang Sam Yot is Lop Buri’s best
known landmark and provincial symbol. A former Hindu
Shrine built in the 13th century in the classic Bayon
style of Khmer architecture, the compound comprises
three prangs (towers) linked by a corridor. The three
laterite and sandstone spires decorated with classic
stucco are believed to have originally represented the
Hindu Trimurti; Brahman (the creator), Vishnu (the
preserver) and Siva (the destroyer). During the reign of
King Narai, the shrine was converted into a Buddhist
temple when a brick viharn located to the east which
houses a grand U-Thong-Ayutthaya style Buddha image was
probably built. Buddha images were later added to the
two prangs. The temple is open at 8.00 a.m. until 6.00
p.m., admission fee is 30 bahts.
Prang Khaek is
the oldest monument of Lop Buri and the oldest Khmer-style Hindu
Shrine to be found in Thailand’s central region. A fascinating
small compound of Khmer remains, it consists of the three brick
prangs constructed without adjoining corridors. Prang Khaek was
restored by King Narai the Great in the 17th century. Recently
restored by the Fine Arts Department, it is located on Vichayen
Road, near the Narai Ratchaniwet Palace.
San Phra Kan
Brahman Shrine located next to Wat Phra Prang Sam Yot, across
the railway station, is San Phra Kan. The compound is comprised
of both old and new sections. The former can be dated back to
the Khmer period, as attested by the laterite mound that was
found. The new section, constructed in 1951, contains a famous
object of worship – a four-armed Vishnu figure fixed with a
Buddha's head. Located nearby is a guardian house in which
various Buddha and Hindu images are enshrined. A troop of
monkeys begging for food usually surrounds the Shrine.
Sometimes, they can become offensive to visitors, especially
those giving out food for their photographs.
Vichayen House was built at the royal command of King
Narai the Great. It initially served as a residence of
Chevalier de Chaumont, the first French ambassador to
Thailand during the reign of King Louis XIV. Later on,
it was occupied by the Greek, Constantine Phaulkon, who
later became King Narai’s advisor and was granted the
position of royal minister – Chao Phraya Vichayen.
Located just 300 meters from Prang Khaek, the compound
has many interesting visible ruins including the Roman
Catholic Chapel, a hall of residence for ambassador and
mission members, brick water tanks and fountains.
Admission fee is 30 bahts.
Wat Mani Chonlakhan
the reign of King Mongkut, the temple was originally called Wat
Ko Kaew as it was located on a small island. Remains found in
the compound include the Chedi Luang Pho Saeng, the ubosot, the
viharn and a large Buddha image situated along the riverside.
Wat Nakhon Kosa
of the railway station near San Phra Kan is Wat Nakhon Kosa
which may have originally been a Hindu Shrine as the temple was
built in 1157 by the Khmers. Later on, U-Thong style cement
Buddha images were added on the prangs.
Wat Phra Si Maha That
temple with tallest Prang in Lop Buri, Wat Phra Si Maha That is
located behind the railway station near the San Phra Kan. The
Lop-Buri style prang in front of the temple was built around
1157 when the town came under Khmer rule. The U-Thong style
Buddha images on the prang and the large viharn were later added
by King Narai the Great. The laterite prang still has some
original lintels and stucco work intact. A number of other
chedis and prangs - most of which were restored – were greatly
influenced by both the Sukhothai and Ayutthaya styles.
Wat San Paulo
Church founded by the Portuguese during the reign of King Narai
the Great, Wat San Paulo is situated approximately 3 kilometers
east of town, off of Ramdaecho Road. The word San Paulo was
probably dubbed by Thais – especially when they pronounced Saint
Paul or Saint Paulo in Thai style. Visible in the site are the
remains of a brick wall and stucco tower, as well as an
octagonal, 3-story, observatory.
Wat Sao Thong Thong
Rue de France, to the north of Phra Narai Ratchaniwet, this
western style viharn was believed to have originally been built
by King Narai the Great as a church for Christian envoys. It was
subsequently restored by King Narai the Great, who ordered the
replacement of Thai windows with Western-style windows with
Gothic-designs in the secondary chapel. Later on, the viharn was
converted into a Buddhist temple. It contains a large seated
Ayutthaya-style Buddha image.
assorted Lop-Buri style Buddha images can be found on the
Wat Yang Na Rangsi (Lop Buri Boat Museum)
Located on the
bank of the Lop Buri River, 9 kilometers south of the town
center along the Lop Buri-Bang Pahan route is Wat Yang Na
Rangsi. The temple is famous for its Buddha images which were
made of sandstone and quartz. It is also notable for its wooden
sala (a wooden teaching hall) which was built in 1927 in a
typical central region style. The sala has been converted into
the Lop Buri Boat Museum, where a large collection of local
vessels, in particular a one-seat barge, are exhibited.
village is well known for its carefully woven “Mat Mi”. The
art of weaving Mat Mi has been handed down over generations
for more than 135 years. The distinct features of Ban
Kluai’s Mat Mi are its unique pattern and supreme quality.
Wat Khao Wongkhot (Bat Cave)
an area of 30 rai, Wat Khao Wongkhot is situated
approximately 4 kilometers from Ban Mi city. The temple is
built in the middle of three mountains with the Reclining
Buddha enshrined at the foot of Sanam Daeng Mountain.
Visitors are encouraged to stop at a pavilion which keeps
the un-deteriorated body of Charoen Ditsawanno venerable
Bhikku, former abbot of Wat Khao Wongkot who passed away in
compound of Wat Khao Wongkhot is a bat cave which is
considered to be the largest in Lop Buri. With millions of
bats inhabiting the cave, the temple receives substantial
revenues from the sale of bat dung. The bats will fly out of
the cave at 6 p.m. to seek food. It takes up to 2 hours to
empty the cave.
side temple located on the west bank of Bang Kham canal, Wat
Thammikaram was formerly known as Wat Khang Khao (Bat
Temple). This was due to the fact that many thousands of
bats used to live there. Visitors to this temple usually
marvel at its notable murals which can be dated from the mid
Nam Tok Wang
Located approximately 12 kilometers from Lam Narai
Market is a waterfall that flows all year round.
Perfect for people looking for a quite and
refreshing retreat from the town, the waterfall is
accessible via Chai Badan – Tha Luang Road (Highway
No. 2089). Look for the sign of the waterfall and
proceed for approximately 7 kilometers.
Wat Khao Somphot
temple is located 38 kilometers from Chai Badan District.
There are 19 caves naturally decorated with stalactites and
stalagmites in the environs of the mountainous temple.
Recommended caves to visit include Tham Yai, Tham Chedi,
Tham Phet, Tham Ram Wong, Tham Singto, and etc.
Soi 24 Sai Tri, Mo 9 Phatthana Nikhom District, Lop Buri
The center distributes information and knowledge on Bee
cultivation in Thailand. It is also a place where natural
bees’ products including royal jelly, honey (from sunflower,
natural honey extracts, etc.) and other honey-related
products are on sale.
Khuen Pa Sak
biggest reservoir in Central Thailand, the Pa Sak
Cholasit Dam was constructed as part of the Maenam
Pa Sak Royal Development Project, an initiative of
King Bhumibol. Constructed in 1989, the earth
(soil)-filled dam with a clay core was granted the
name by His Majesty the King who presided over its
opening on 25 November 1999. The Dam stretches over
Lop Buri and Saraburi Provinces. It is 4,860 meters
long with a capacity of 785 million cubic meters.
Pa Sak Cholasit Dam is a major source of water for
household, agriculture and industrial use in Lop
Buri and Saraburi Provinces. Moreover, it helps
prevent flooding on the Pasak riverside and Bangkok
and its outskirts. The dam also provides
large-scale, fresh-water fish for locals.
emerging tourist attraction, Pa Sak Cholasit Dam
offers a unique opportunity to travel across the
reservoir by train. The railway was constructed
along the dam’s ridge which leads to Pa Sak Basin
Museum and a scenic lookout point above the dam. The
journey offers a breathtaking and refreshing view of
the reservoir, and also a bed of sunflowers.
Getting to Pa Sak Cholasit Dam is easy. By car from
Lop Buri city, take Highway No. 3017 (Phatthana
Nikhom – Wat Mueang) for a total distance of 60
kilometers. It is highly recommended to take the
trip by train during November – January. The State
Railway of Thailand operates a special route to and
from Bangkok-Pa Sak Cholasit Dam every Saturday,
Sunday and public holidays. For more information,
contact tel: 02 223 7101 or 02 223 7020.
largest sunflower field in Thailand is located in
Tambon Chong Sarika, Phatthana Nikom District. The
panoramic sunflower field has become Lop Buri’s
major tourist attraction especially during November
to January when they are in full bloom. To travel
from Bangkok, drive along the Lop Buri-Saraburi Road
for approximately 30 kilometers, then turn left into
Highway No. 21 and proceed for another 15
kilometers. Traveling from Lop Buri town center, the
sunflower field is located approximately 45
kilometers from the town.
the bank of Maenam Bang Kham in Tha Wung District,
approximately 24 kilometers from town, the Ayutthaya-period
temple is famous for its chapel. Decorated with stucco in
various designs showcasing Buddha’s previous life and his
first sermon after attaining enlightenment, the chapel
illustrates extraordinary Thai craftsmanship which is truly
exquisite. There is also the Phra Si Ari Buddha image which
local people have worshipped for generations.
Sap Langka Wildlife
Kut Ta Phet Sub-district, Sap langka Wildlife Sanctuary
covers an area of 155 square kilometers or 96,875 rai of
land. A flatland amidst a valley, the Sanctuary is 140-846
meters above sea level. This virgin and fertile jungle is
where Maenam Lam Sonthi originates and where the
nearly-extinct animals dwell.
There are two natural trekking trails which are easy to
follow. The first is from Haui Prik to Tham (cave) Pha
Pheung (a 3,200-meter trip with a total travel time of
approximately 2.5 hours). The second is Haui Pradu trail
which starts with a rafting trip to the 1,500-meter trail
along Tham Samui Kui and Tham Phra Nok.
travel time is approximately 1.5 hours)
interest along both trails include Namtok Pha Phueng, where
water gushes down the high cliff all year round. The steep
trail winds through the side of the mountain to another part
of the waterfall. Nearby is the huge “Pha Pheung Cave” which
is the home of thousand bats. Stalagmites and stalactites
are found in the cave which ends at the high cliff. Other
attractions include Pha Nam Yoi and Namtok Sam Sai.
there by car, use Highway No. 205 from Chai Badan to Lam
Sonthi. Drive for 31 kilometers, turn to Kudtapetch
Sub-district and proceed for another 37 kilometers.
note that visitors are admitted only to certain areas.
Contact the Sanctuary Headquarters for more details on 02
562 0760 or visit