was formerly called “Tha Chin”
probably because, in the old days, it had been a trading port
dealing with a vast number of Chinese junks. In 1548, a town
named “Sakhon Buri” was established at the mouth of the
Tha Chin River. It was a centre for recruiting troops from
various seaside towns. The name of the town was changed into
"Mahachai" when Khlong (canal) Mahachai was dug in 1704 to
join the Tha Chin River at the town. Later, the town was renamed
“Samut Sakhon” by King Rama IV but it is still
popularly called "Mahachai" by the villagers.
Samut Sakhon is located 30 kms.
from Bangkok. The province occupies a total area of 872 square
kilometres and is administratively divided into 3 districts:
Muang Samut Sakhon, Krathum Baen, and Ban Phaeo.
It is a major fishing port and also the biggest producer of