is found in history as a part of Krung Si Ayutthaya. In the year
1636, King Prasat Thong commanded a canal dug as a short cut from
Ban Talat Khwan to the mouth of Bang Kruai Canal a total distance of
five kilometers. In the year 1665, King Naraithe great gave a royal command to build a fortress at the
mouth of Khoing Mae Nam Om and the township area was moved over
there too. The fortress was demolished during the reign of King Rama
III to reuse the dricks for the construction of War Chalerm Phra
Kiat. In the year 1928, King Phra Pok Klao gave a royal command to
relocate the township area to the present site. Nonthaburi was once
consolidated with Krung Thep on January 1, 1943 ; however, it was
reestadlished as an independent province again on May 9, 1946.
Nonthaburi occupies an area of 622.3 square
kilometers, only 20 kiometer from Bangkok, and is conveniently
accessed by both land
andwater transportation. It consists of six Amphones : Muang,
Pak Kret, Bang Kruai, Bang Yai, Bang Bua Thong and Sai Noi.