Lampang is primarily known as
Horse Carriage City “Muang Roth Ma” as horse carriages commonly seen
by visitors portray people’s ways of life and their familiarity with
them. At present, Lampang is the only town in Thailand where horse
carriages public transport. Tourists can feel the liveliness
as well as listen to the description about the historical sites in
Lampang by horse driver.
In addition horse carriages, another real symbol of Lampang
province hardly known by people is “Kai Kau” (white cock)
which stands in front of the city gate as the emblem of
Lampang. Moreover, the picture of “Kai Kau” is commonly
found on signposts, bridges and old buildings. It has been
retold that during Buddha period Buddha visited this
province. When Indra knew, he was afraid that people would
not get up in himself as “Kai Kau” to wake the people up.
Lampang is therefore called “Kukkuk Nakorn” meaning “Kai
Kau”. The sound “kikkuk” is similar to cock’s cry but the
source if sound is originally unknown.
The northern region is the mostly
agricultural. A great number of houses are built on either side of
the river. Human settlement in northern Thailand were villages,
small towns or large towns which were classified according to their
degree of importance. The monastery or wat (temple) was the cultural
center of the village. The village market (talad) met local economic
Townspeople followed a wide range of occupations. Town was
located near water and supported fairly large populations.
Wiang was a kind of town which means an area encircled by
walls and moats. There were two kinds of very small northern
Thai towns. The first wiang was used as a defense position
in times of unrest. In evidence, potsherds are seldom found
at these sites, presumably because they were occupied for
only short periods. The second wiang, wiang phrathat, served
religious purposes. Some district or monasteries were
formally designated as wiang the principal edifice of the
monastery is the Phrathat. Year after year, villages pay
homage to the Phrathat.
The large town was called “Nakhon”. These would usually be not one
large wiang but an ordered group of wiang.The largest and most
important would be the wiang of the capital Khelang Nakhon, also
called Lampang, was the most important Muang in the northern Wang
Valley. Evidence found from Wang Valley shows that in 680 A.D. Phra
chow Arnantayod, was the first ruler of Kheland Nakhon with areas
about 600 rai on the northern bank of Wang river of Wang Nuea at
present. Phrachow Arnantayod was one of the twin sons of Phranang
Jammatherwee, the ruling queen of Hariphunchai Kingdom.
Wiang Phrathat Lampang Luang is the most important religious wiang
in the entire province. Wiang Phrathat Lampang Luang, 18 kilometers
southwest of Lampang in Kao Kha District, is a roughly rectangular
site. It is marked by remains of triple earthen walls separated by
Local historical records give the name of one particular wiang as
Lamphakappa Nakhon. There is a legend that the Lord Buddha visited
this spot in his lifetime and predicted a fine for the province.
Such as belief were once instrumental in ensuring the upkeep and
restoration of a monastery.
Phrayah Muangrai established Kingdom of Lanna at the
Kok River in the north of Kheland Nakhon. During the
13th century, he marched an army and
seized with Kingdom of Hariphunchai. Finally, he
occupied both Hariphunchai and Khelang Nakhon, which
was under Kingdom of Hariphunchai and thus became
the ruler. Until 1558 A.D. Lanna was a dependency of
Myanmar for 200 years but sometimes it was under the
Kingdom of Ayudhaya which was the strong domain in
the south. On the time Kingdom of Ayudhaya was the
strong domain in the south. The art objects were the
trace of the extensive influence.
Myanmar occupied many towns in the North. The center rule was in
Nakhon Chiang Mai. Until 1732 A.D., Taomahayod, the ruler of
Hariphunchai, marched an army at Wiang Phrathat Lampang Luang and
seized with Nanthipchang who was the hunter. Taomahayod was shot
with a cannon at Vihara Luang by Nanthipchang. He became Lampang’s
rule after he freed Lampang to be from Myanmar’s rule. After that,
there was the coronation for Nanthipchang who won his crown by
The King Krungthonburi commanded Chow Ka wheela, the nephew of
Nanthipchang to be Lampang’s ruler after Chow Kawheela cooperated
with the southern people to seize with Myanmar. Later, Chow Kawsom,
Chow Kawheela’s brother, Who was Lampang’s ruler after Chow Kawheela
was promoted to be the ruler of Nakhon Chiang Mai.
In period of Chow Norranantachai Chawalit, the ninth ruler in the
region of King Rama V in 1872-1897 A.D., Nakhon Lampang was a
prosperous center of teakwood business on Talad Gao Road. Most owner
of business was Burmese and lived in Tamaho community at Tambon
wiang Nuea. Many monasteries in Burmese style were built in many
Phraya Suren Radchasena was the deputy in Lampang after Chow
Boonyawartwongsmanit, the last Lampang’s ruler who died in 1922 A.D.
He was the first governor of Lampang province in the reign of King
According to technology development of aircraft, during World War
II, the airplane named Lampang, was used in Lampang Airport at
Amphoe Kao Kha. This airport was an important role to Japanese’s
airbase. On August 14, 1945 A.D. the Japanese emperor signed to
admit defeat in the war and Thai government declared the peace.
After three days of the peace declearing, the Hara-kiri was made by
Japanese generals in Lampang in order to show their loyalty. After
the war was ended, many important and interesting places have
remained until now.
Horse Carriage and Train
The horse carriages were only used as a mean of transportation in
Lampang province during the reign of King Rama V. The first horse
carriage was bought from Bangkok. Later, the horse carriages were
wide-spread from Nakhon Lampang to Nakhon Ratchasima in the
Northeast, Nakhon Si Thammarat in the South and Nakhon Chiang Mai,
Muang Chiang Rai, Muang Phrae, Muang Nan and Muang Mae Hong Son in
the North. Nowadays, the hourse carriages are still used in Lampang
as a mean of urban transportation.
The wheeled vehicle in Lampang was
found by Khun Uthankhadee in 1949 A.D., after 39 years of using
horse carriage. In 1952 A.D., Chow Boonsong Na Lampnag changed the
name of the wheeled vehicle to “horse carriage” in Lampang. At
present, there are 70 horse carriages in Lampang and only 50 horse
carriages provide service all day for the tourists to get around the
According to technology development, the outstanding development in
Lampang was the railway station service. The first running train
service from the northern route to Nakhon Lampang station, main
terminal, was on April 1, 1916 A.D. in the reign of King Rama VI.
Passengers were brought from Nakhon Lampang Station to Muang (town)
by the horse carriage, called “Roth Ma Taxi”.
The main railway station of Lampang, that connects with 3 of the
northern railway routes, located at Tambon Soptui, Amphoe Muang. In
Accordance with the development of Lampang, the suburb area is
developed to be central business district. After the railway route
from Khuntan tunnel to Chiang Mai was built in 1921 A.D., Lampang
has become the center of transportation. Goods are transported by
the railway from Bangkok to northern and from the north to Bangkok
by passing through Tambon Soptui. Therefore, Tambon soptui was fast
prosperous and many buildings were constructed. Tourist can get the
Roth Ma Taxi service to get around the town. The horse driver wear
classic deluxe style cowboy