City of Art and Culture
Beaches of Long, White Sand
city of Songkhla today is a simple country town compared
with the hustle and bustle of Hay Yai.Even so, there are museums and archaeological and
Many parks grace the center of the city.The beaches facing the Gulf of Thailand, especially those
Laem Samila show another aspect of a city enlivened by all
kinds of out door sports.
Old Quarter of the City
The old quarter is located along the roads of Nang Ngam,
Nakhon Nai, Nakhon Nok, Yala, Yaring and Pattani.Besides the historical buildings, the life of te
inhabitants, though simple, is captivating and worth
Many quaint old shops still offer their wares and
services, such as those selling necessities for monks,
those repairing classic brand-name bicycles like
Raleigh, those selling home-made spicy dip and chips.
The Nang Ngam Road has many restaurants, traditional coffee shops, and shops
selling local Thai and Chinese specialties.The shop near the theater sells Yen Ta Fo.For a scenic tour around on a local tuk tuk rented from
Nagn Ngam Hotel.
3. Hat Samila
Administered by the Water Sports Center and
Songkhla Metropolitan, the Samila Beach is
clean, well managed and fully equipped.The beach is designated a green area under
the supervision of the Royal Thai Navy, from
which highrise construction has been banned,
thus ensuring the sustained beauty of the beach.
Outdoors activities Diverse waterfront activities at Hat Samila put
Regular weather and tide forecasts suggest appropriate
Use of safety vests is urged.Swimming is best from March to August. Contact: Samila Sea Sports. Songkhla Naval Sailing Club, Chalathat
Road. Tel. (01) 897-3411, (01) 897-3416.Service is available during 02.00 pm. – 6.00 pm.
On weekends, but not during heavy tide and wind.
Khao Tang Kuan
At the altitued of 2.00 feet are some notable sights.
Phrathat Chedi Luang This Thawarawadi art was
constructed during the Nakhon Si Thammarat Kingdom and
renovated in the reign of King Rama IV. The stucco
ornament on the western gable depicts his crown and
tiers. Sala Wihan Daeng and the Lighthouse.The lighthouse was built by Phraya Wichian Khiri
Songkha National Museum
The museum, formerly the residence of the Songkhla
Governor, has a Chinese architecutural style.It was built by Phraya Sunthararak (Net Na
Songkhla), the assistant Governor of Songkhla during
It displays southern folk art and crafts.Thawarawadi and Siwichai artifacts, prehistoric
finds, old Thai and Chinese ceramics, art objects of the
southern peninsula.Chinese furniture room.Na Songkhla room, a room displaying wood carving
which were once parts of the museum building itself and
Thai Art History room.The Museum is open from Wednesday to Sunday, 09.00 am. –
The entrance fee is 10 baht for Thai citizens and 30
baht for foreign visitors.For guided group tour, contact Tel. (074) 311728.
the spot once occupied by Khun Vinit Than-takam (Bueng
Tinnasulanonda, the father of highly respected former
Prime Minister General Prem Tinnasulanonda), when he
served as Songkhla warden.This Thai house was built according to the
recollections of General Prem Tinnasulanonda as a
memorial to his family.Inside is a display of utensils and the history
of this well-known family.General Prem Named this museum Phathammarong or
Warden’s Museum.The museum is open daily from 08.30 am. – 04.00
pm. Except on Mondays and on the holidays.
Yai Si Wat Matchmawat
The most important temple was built in the late
Once called Wat Chan, it became known as Wat Klang (the
middle temple) when Wat Liap and Wat Pho were built to
Somdet Phra Maha Samana Chao Krom Phraya Wachirayan
Warorot Gave its present name in 1888, as the city moved
from the western to the eastern bank of the Lake.He used its hall for ceremony to swear an oath of
allegiance, which has been held annually since then.
A picture of the bustling Songkhla port atHua Khao eaeng, as busy then as it is today.Murals The mural paintings on the spaces
between windows depict the ten previous lives of the
Phra Ubosot or Chapel The Ubosot was constructed
during King Rama I’s reign, and renovated in applied
Thai-Chinese style during King Rama III and IV’s reigns.
The mural paintings remain in good condition.Sala Ruesi Dat Ton Dating from the reign
King Rama IV, this western-styled structure is a medical
textbook in itself, engraved with pictures and teachings
about medicine and beneficial yoga practices.
Phattharasin Sangwon Museum Also called Matchimawat
National Museum, it was established in 1939 and is open
from Wednesday to Sunday.The building once served as a congregation hall.Many Buddha images and antiques found in
Songkhla, Sathing Phra, Ranot in the southern region,
have been collected here.
Sao Takiap Stone The stone flagpole is carved with
beautiful designs inscribed with Chinese characters
stating that it was erected in the 7th year
of the reign Phra Chao Kae Teng (in 1802)7- storied Chinese pagoda is similar to
the one at Wat Suwan Khiri, Amphoe Singha Nakhon.It was built in the same period, i.e. 1798, by
Chao Phraya Phichai Khiri (Bunhui Na Songkhla).Nai Thawanlaban guards the doors in all
is an eclectic creation, combining Chinese and
European motifs, a style popular during the reigns of
the first four kings of the Chakkri Dynasty.