Bueng Si Fai
is a large fresh-water lake to the south of town. It is a
Fishery Department's facility to breed fresh-water. Along the
banks is a delightfully landscaped park suitable for rest and
recreation. The scenery is at its most scenic in the early
morning and late afternoon. On the other side of the park is an
aquarium exhibiting species of native fish and local fishing
equipment. An eye-catching sight is a gigantic, crocodile-shaped
structure within which is a space which could be used for
Utthayan Mueang Kao Pichit
kilometres from town on the Phichit-Wang Chick road (no. 1068)
is Utthayan Mueang Kao Pichit. The park features an ancient town
dating back to more than 900 years. Most of the structures
discovered were built during the Sukhothai and Ayutthaya
periods. The old town is surrounded by city walls and moats.
During the Sukhothai period it was called Muang Sa Luang
situated on the original bank of the Nan River before the river
changes its course, which was the reason the town itself was
moved to the new bank in circa 1881 during the reign of king
Rama V. In the town centre is Wat Phra Si Rattana Mahathat with
its large bell-shaped Chedi inside of which have been found
hundreds of votive tablets. In front of the Chedi are remains of
a Vihan. There are score of small Chedis scattered around the
Wat Khao Rup Chang
Wat Khao Rup
Chang is located along the Phichit-Taphan Hin road some 15
kilometres from town. On the hilltop is an old, Ayutthaya-style
Chedi built of bricks but with its top part now broken. There is
also a Mondop, the wall murals of which have largely faded away.
The Mondop house a bronze Holy Relic.
Wat Nakhon Chum
Chum is some 9 kilometres from town on the Phichit - Wang Chik
road. Built in the Sukhothai period about 800 hundred years ago,
the temple features an old Ubosot built with brick and mortar
with the upper parts in wood. Instead of windows, there are
narrow openings for ventilation throughout the walls, similar to
temples of the Ayutthaya period. In the Ubosot is a large
Sukhothai-style Buddha statue once used as the principal statue
in oath-taking ceremony pledging allegiance to the monarch.
Wat Tha Luang
Built on the
west bank of the Nan River within town limit in 1845, Wat Tha
Luang today houses Luang Pho Phet, a Chiang Saen-style Buddhist
statue cast in bronze.
Pho Prathap Chang
Wat Pho Prathap Chang
temple in Pho Prathap Chang district is Wat Pho Prathap
Chang, located about 27 kilometres from town on route #1068
to the south. It was built by Phra Chao Sua, an Ayutthaya
king, in 1701 at a site reputed to be his own birth-place.
Although abandoned for almost 300 years, the remaining
traces are indicative of past splendors, such as a huge
Vihan with its walls still standing but now roofless, and
small Chedis scattered over the site. The entire site is
surrounded by double-walls and huge trees, some of which are
over 200 years old.
is the most commercially advanced district of Phichit.
Located on the bank of the Nan River some 30 kilometres
south of the provincial seat on Highway No.113, it can also
be reached via railways. The most prominent sight of the
district is the 34 metre-tall golden Buddha statue, the
Luang Pho To, at Wat Thewaprasat on the Nan river bank
opposite the Tapan Hin market. There are ferry services
across the river.
Wat Bang Khlan
kilometres from the district town of Pho Tha-le, or 60
kilometres south of Phichit town, is Wat Bang Khlan. It was
the resident temple of the highly revered monk, the late
Luang Pho Ngoen. A statue of the Luang Pho Ngoen continues
to receive homage from the public. The Chai Bowon Museum
inside the temple collects ancient items such as votive
tablets, Buddha statues and earthenwares for display. It is
open only on Saturday-Sunday.