Since Loei is a border town adjacent to present-day Laos, or the Lan
Xang Kingdom in the past, many temples and archeological sites in
Loei reflect the influence of Lan Xang’s artistic style. Temples in
Chiang Khan, Dan Sai and Na Haeo apparently reflect Lan Xang’s
distinctive features in their Ubosot, an ordination hall, Wihan, an
assembly hall, which houses the Buddha images and Ho Trai, al
library sued to house holy scriptures. Notably, the sloping,
superposed roof in some areas in the northern region, is typically
1. Phra That Si
This temple was
built in 1560 as the symbol of fraternal relationship between Somdet
Phra Maha Chakkaphat of the Ayutthaya Kingdom and Phrachao Chaiya
chetthathirat of the Lan Xang Kingdom. The two kings pledged at this
Phra That not to encroach upon the other’s territory, and to unify
their forces against the invading Myanmar army.
This Lan Xang-style
Phra That is located on a hill by the Man River, at the supposed
borderline between the two kingdoms. This brick-and-concrete, 30
meters high, chedi with a 12 cornered indented square base, has
“cubical lotus” shape, similar to Phra That Phanom, in Nakhon Phanom
Province, Phra That Luang in Vientiane, Phra That Si Khotta-bong in
Lao’s Khwaeng Khammuan and many other chedi along the Mekong River.
15th day of the waxing moon in May, people in Dan Sai
hold a grand celebration at Phra That Si Song Rak, and offer 3
candle-made objects to this sacred Phra That. The first is Ton
details in box);
the second one is Thain Wian Hua or candles specially made to be
flexible and long enough to circle around one’s head; and the
third one is Thian Sen Khon Sen Sat or a bundle of small candles
of the same number as family members and pets.
Do’s and Don’ts at Phra That Si Song Rak
1. Do not offer red objects or flowers to the Phra That.
2. Do not dress in red. This sacred Phra That was built as a symbol
of sincerity and friendship, while red color represents blood and
3. Do not put up an umbrella, wear a hat or shoes within the Phra
4. Do not bring children of less than 3 years old into the Phra
Note: Before performing any you are recommended to ask for advice
from the officials there.
Located in Tambon Na Phueng in Na Haeo, this important temple was
supposedly built in late Ayutthaya period. The Buddha statue
enshrined in the abbot’s abode has been revered as the town’s moral
refuge for generations. Assumed to be of the Chiang Saen period, the
statue depicts the meditating Buddha with an elongated face and a
The mural pictures
in the wihan depict the Jakata, 10 previous lives of the Lord
Buddha and local literature. The inscription on the northern wall
states that these mural paintings were completed in 1852, during the
reign of King Rama IV. The outer side of this wihan also
shows mural paintings completed in 1916.
No temple in
Thailand is like Phra That Din Thaen. No brick and concrete were
applied, but it was solely made of soil and was assembled by the
faithful more than 200 years ago.
This highly revered
religious site means so much to people of Na Haeo as Phra That Si
Song Rak to Dan Sai. A visit to Phra Thaen is worthwhile, as it
bestows not only moral happiness, but also an insight into the
meaning of Phra That to the people’s way of life, specially those in
Legend held that
once a wandering monk from the central plain stopped over at Saeng
Pha village and asked the villages to jointly construct Phra That
din Thaen within 3 years. The construction presumably stared in
1770. Upon its completion, the monk asked the people to abide by the
Buddha’s 5 moral precepts and to pledge to respect the Triple Gems (i.e.
the Buddha, the Dhamma-his teaching, and the Sangha-the monks).
Besides, they were also requested to pay respect to Phra That on the
full moon day in November, and to stop working and killing animals
on the Buddhist holy days. This pledge has been strictly adhered to
until today in Saeng Pha and nearby villages in Na Haeo.
The 73,225 rai in
this National Park covers mountainous areas extending from north to
south, with Phu San Sai being the highest summit. Most Forests are
dry evergreen forests with some deciduous trees and hill evergreen
at higher altitude which serves as a natural boundary between
Thailand and Laos.
The park has a
designated 7.2 kilometers long natural trail include Hin Si Thit –
the 4 big square sand stones lying deep in the forest on the
southern part of Phu San Sai. Hill 1408 on Phu San Sai is the
highest spot and the central point of the Park, yet Hill 1205 only 1
kilometer away offers a viewpoint overlooking Laos as well as good
Sights of interest
around the park
Visitors can drive
the park on Highway 1268 and Highway 1328 to visit various
interesting sites along the way.
About 4 kilometers
from the park headquarters on the Na Haeo-Rom Klao Road Highway 1268
Wang Klao Waterfall is the first tourist attraction on the way. A
short walk of about 70 meters is necessary to reach this 2-leveled,
5 meters high waterfall.
Located only about
200 meters from Chang Tok Waterfall, the 2-levelded, 4 meters high
and 10 meters wide Khring Waterfall is a more worthwhile stop than
the first two. Its attraction is revealed in the beautifully and
naturally arranged steps of big and small stones, whereby water
gently flows down to the basin blow. Tables and chairs are available
under thick tree shades for picnickers. On the other side of the
waterfall is the pavilion, which H.R.H. Primcess Maha Chakri
Sirindhorn once visited in early 1991.
Very popular among
the Thais and Laotians alike, this perennial waterfall originates
from the Hueang River, which demarcates the Thai-Laotian border. Tat
Hueag Waterfall thus is the only waterfall jointly owned by these
two fraternal countries. It is also the biggest waterfall in Na
Haeo, with a height of 30 meters and width of 40 meters.
This Guard Unit is
located on the summit of Phu Hua Hom, on the same route as Tat
Hueang waterfall. This location offers a good viewpoint onto Hill
1428, once the source of land dispute between Thailand and Laos and
now a demilitarized zone.
This waterfall is
located by the back of Na Haeo Witthaya School, about 2 kilometers
from the district office. This medium-size, year-round waterfall is
easily accessible by cars as it is out of Na Haeo Park and nearest
to the waterfall is about 12 meters high and about 35 meters wide.
The large basin at the lower part of the waterfall is suitable for
swimming; some parts are even shallow enough for children. The
waterfall is surrounded by dense forest.