in the Kamphang Phet Historical Park include archaeological
remains of ancient sites such as Mueang Chakangrao to the east
of the Ping River, Mueang Nakhon Chum to the west and Mueang
Trai Trueng some 18 kilometres from the town to the southwest.
Services from the Tourist Centre are available, the centre
itself being located some 5 kilometres from town on the
Kamphaeng Phet-Phran Kratai route.
the ancient Kamphaeng Phet town, had the same town planning
concept as the old Sukhothai and Si Satchanalai, with separate
zones for religious sites both within and outside of town
limits. Structures are usually large and made of laterite.
Religious sites on the west bank of the Ping River at Nakhon
Chum are built of bricks and of smaller size.
Remains of the
ancient sites within the city walls are as follows:
City Walls and Old Fortifications mark the
boundary of the rectangular town area, measuring 300-700 metre
wide and 2,200 metre long.
Wat Phra Kaeo is a large royal temple in town centre near
a site believed to have been a palace. The temple itself
was used on important city events and had no monks in
residence. Major features include the principal Chedi
with lion-adorned base and a round Chedi with
elephant-adorned base. There are also other Chedis of
different bases and remains of several chapels. Its
boundary is marked off by laterite walls.
Second in size
to Wat Phra Kaeo is Wat Phra That. Here the
principal Chedi is built of mixture of laterite and bricks with
a 15-metre wide square base. The style is of Kamphaeng Phet
is the site of the palace located to the north of Wat Phra Kaeo
with a square earthen wall almost touching the northern city
wall. Surrounded the walls on three sides are moats with a pond
in the middle. There are no standing structures remaining today.
Wat Phra Non
is fenced in by laterite walls on four sides. At the
front of the temple are a square-shaped pond, bathrooms
and an ancient floating pavilion which is supported by a
large laterite column. The entire column was cut out in
one single piece from its source and measures 1.1 meters
on each side and 6.4 meters in height, the largest such
stone in the country. A lion sculpture and Sema stones
(boundary stones) can still be discerned. The large
Vihan which once housed the Reclining Buddha has
Wat Phra Si
Wat Phra Si Iriyabot is located to the north of Wat Phra
Non and have similar pond and bathroom facilities as its
neighbour. Walls on the four sides are of laterite
materials with an entrance also made of laterite. A
Mondop structure houses Buddha statues in four
postures-walking, sitting, standing and reclining in the
Sukhothai artistic style. Today only the statue in the
standing posture still remains.
Wat Phra Sing is believed to have been constructed during
both the Sukhothai and Ayutthaya periods. With laterite
walls, it has a square-shaped principal Chedi with
arches on four sides. In front of the Ubosot are
ornamental lion and Naga figurines.
Wat Chang Rop
is a large temple situated on a high hill. Its main
chedi of Ceylonese style is in the middle of the yard
but its top part is broken down. The base is adorned
with 68 half-elephants between which are Bhoti-shaped
designs. There are also traces of demon and female
dancers figures remaining.
Apart from these temples, there are also several ancient
sites on the east bank of the Ping River, including Wat
Arwat Yai, Wat Kalothai and Phra Ruang Road.
is an ancient town on the west bank of the Ping River. Its 2-3
metre-high earthen walls run along the waterway. It is in this
area that the famous religious tablets of Kamphaeng Phet have
been discovered. Within the city walls are a couple of ancient
sites such as the Kamphaeng Pom Thung Sethi located on
Phahonyothin Road just before entering the town. It is part of
the laterite fortifications 83 metres long and 6 metres tall.
That is a temple situated in the centre of Mueang Nakhon Chum
featuring a Burmese-style Chedi. To the south is an Ubosot
housing several Sukhothai- and Ayutthaya-style bronze Buddha
statues. The Chedi itself is believed to originally have been a
Sukhothai-type structure, its style having been altered during a
restoration work financed by a wealthy Burmese about a century
ancient town is Mueang Trai Trueng. It was built by King
Chaisiri of Chiang Rai who fled invading enemy in 1542 B.E.
(circa 999). Today most of the structures are in disrepair with
only ruins of Chedis and ramparts. The town is about 18
kilometres from Kamphaeng Phet on the Kamphaeng Phet-Khlong Lan
Talat Kluai Khai
This market is
on the Kamphaeng Phet-Nakhon Sawan highway at Km.343. Scores of
roadside stalls display and sell both raw and ripe Kluai Khai (a
type of bananas).
The Kamphang Phet National Museum
Phet National Museum, located on Pindamri Road in Mueang
district, houses ancient objects and other antique arts articles
from various eras found in the provincial town. These include
sculptured and earthen designs, heads of Buddha statues,
traditional celadon products, sculptures of demons and celestial
and human beings used to decorate Chedi bases or Vihans. It is
open Wednesday-Sunday from 9.00 a.m.-4.00 p.m. More information
at Tel: 0 5571 1570.
The Kamphang Phet Province Museum
Phet Province Museum nearby is made up of groups of Central
Region applied architectural style structures. There are
exhibitions on the local history with replicas of the city,
lifestyle and urban and hilltribal customs and traditions. It
also displays the development of Kamphaeng Phet votive tablets
and other resources. The museum is open daily. For more
information, call 0 5572 2341.
Khlong Lan National Park
Lan National Park covers an area of some 300 square
kilometres over mountain ranges to the west of the province.
The highest peak is about 1,400 metres. Of mainly virgin
jungles, it is the source of several streams which flow into
the Ping River.
headquarters is near the Khlong Lan waterfall about 60
kilometres from town on the route to Khlong Lan district
(highway no.1117). Attractions within the park include the
95-metre high Khlong Lan Fall with scenic surroundings, and
the Khlong Nam Lai Fall, a 9-level cascade and located off
Highway no.1117 at Km. 35 and 10 kilometres further on). The
Kaeng Ko Roi (off Highway No.1117 at Pong Nam Ron
intersection) is a group of rock formations jutting out of
the stream looking somewhat like all islands. Visitors can
camp overnight within the park.
Mae Wong National Park
Wong National Park forms the border between Kamphaeng Phet
and Nakhon Sawan and covers an area of about 894 square
kilometres. Most of the land is rich in various types of
plants. Along the Khlong Lan -Umphang route passing through
the park's area, which leads up to the mountains, are
several viewing points between Kms. 81 to 115. At Km. 102 is
a beautiful road-side waterfall. Other falls within the park
include the Mae Krasa, Mae Liwa and others. To visit these
attractions tourists need to go on foot and overnight in the